I didn’t have a good start because I woke up 10 minutes before 9 and I’m expected to come to school at 10am. My travel time is 1 hour so yeah, I came to work late. It’s ok. No assigned classes in the morning. I just have to start with the “project.”

Anyway, I had a good morning and afternoon. I spent half of the day at work bonding with my co-teachers and the rest with my students. I left at around 4:45 pm.

Pers day…

I rode the jeepney to PhilCoA then UP Ikot. I searched for our room assignment for my EDL 111. I found none so I went to the COE office. They said that there’s no ‘permanent’ room yet for our class so for that day we can use Rm. 205 A. I went upstairs and went directly to Rm. 205 A only to find out that it was locked. I found my new professor and classmates staying in Rm. 203 then we transferred to Rm. 205 A.

While waiting outside Rm. 205 (since it was locked, our professor had to find the staff to borrow the key) I saw Gayle, she graduated from UP Manila and her undergrad course has something to do with English Communication something.. hehe… It was too long so I was not able to remember the complete course name. I met her during the Pre-enrollment and Assessment Day in UP last June 6. She’s really nice. She said that her course was the only “naligaw” course because it should’ve been placed in UP Diliman. We have the same schedule for the entire semester.πŸ™‚

We were asked to write basic information about ourselves on a 3×5 index card (provided by our professor) just like when I was in college. Good thing I have a 1×1 picture with me.

I like my professor. She talks a lot but with sense and I feel comfortable in her class. I think I became so comfortable during our first meeting that I even raised my left leg on my chair while listening to her.πŸ˜„

She is Professor Rom Metila and a graduate of UP COE. She introduced herslef and some interesting facts about herself. She likes cats and her pet’s name is Tat (if I heard it correctly).

Subject: EDL 111: Phonology and Grammar of English

Roll call.Β  29 students. Overbooked class.

We had to introduce ourselves briefly including an interesting fact about us and this is how I introduced myself:

“Hi, good evening!πŸ™‚ I’m Sheila San Miguel and you can call me Sheila or whatever you like.πŸ™‚ I’m an MA in Language Education student and I think this course would be very challenging for me because my undergraduate course was BS Psychology.”

I forgot to say an interesting thing about me. Keber na.πŸ˜„

Some are undergrad students and some are MA students like me. Some of them are younger than me and some are older. I’m turning 22 this year.

I have a very interesting set of classmates. One is an activist who is also a writer in Camp Crame and another one writes to TV Networks to inform them of the grammatically incorrect statements/ads (He edits for them for free. He even made a Facebook page to raise awareness about it). I also have a Korean and a Japanese classmate. Most of them like music and can play musical instruments so I said to Gayle, “Ok ako na ang walang alam i-play na musical instument” and she replied with “Triangle! or maracas!”(she even triedΒ  to demonstrate how to play them. haha!) then I said “or castanets!”(with the hand gestures and all) We enjoyed laughing for 1 hr and a few minutes.πŸ˜€

I enjoyed it.πŸ™‚

I will enjoy everything.πŸ™‚

About redbolpen

I am a Filipino. Perky, quirky, and a walking paradox. I speak my mind: it keeps me sane. I love the smell of books: they keep me calm. I talk A LOT. Feel free to talk to me. I don't bite. ;)

5 responses »

  1. Joan Tabalanza says:

    Hey Redpolpen! I’m also An MA Language Educ student. I took up you EDL 11 course last sem with Dr. Alonzo and worry no more because psychology has lots to say about discourse–something you should encounter soon. it’s a crucible for applying behavior-related meanings in oral and written language.

    Just be curious ALWAYS.

    • redbolpen says:

      Ang galing!!!πŸ˜€ Well I assume that you are my senior.πŸ™‚ Thank you for the advice (mega thank you ako kasi natutuwa talaga ako ^_^). I’ll stay curious. ^_^ Actually last week they changed our professor and rooms as well. I’m taking EDL 111 under Dr. Alonzo na din.πŸ™‚ She’s very intimidating yet I like her.πŸ™‚

      narealize ko nga din na talagang konektado ang Psychology sa kinikuha natin ngayon. haru. aja aja sa ‘tin!πŸ™‚

  2. Joan Tabalanza says:

    JUST A CORRECTION:

    EDL 111

  3. dtothealex says:

    Si Rom Metila ba ay morena and pretty? She used to be my teacher before sa HS.πŸ™‚ She’s so pretty!

Leave a Reply

